Meet The MHR team!

Our team works closely together to create and produce the MHR, and can be found on this page. Producing the MHR involves many working elements as shown below. From this, you should be able to find who you need and understand how the MHR works. If you have any queries about the MHR organisation or want to join any of the roles as they became available (check out our Get Involved page for more details), email midlandshistoricalreview@gmail.com

David Robinson, Editor-in-Chief

David Robinson is the Editor-in-Chief and a founder-member of the Midlands Historical Review.

After a long stint in the business world, David began a much more interesting career in the academic sphere and was recently awarded his PhD in history by the University of Nottingham.

David’s research interests include eighteenth and nineteenth-century British travel writing, particularly on India and Italy, and British cultural history during the same period. He has published several peer reviewed articles and recently edited a collection of historical and contemporary travel writing, due for publication by Anthem in Spring 2021.

When not writing and editing the MHR, David can often be found hiking and climbing in Scotland, and chasing his errant spaniel across the Vale of Belvoir.

E: historydavid40@gmail.com

T: @whoknowsdave

Darcie Mawby, Deputy Editor

Darcie Mawby is a third year student funded by Midlands3Cities. Her thesis explores gender roles and identity in military spaces during the Crimean War, while her research interests more broadly span nineteenth-century social and cultural history. She joined MHR as an Assistant Editor in 2017 and has also acted as a Lead Editor for Research Articles.

E: darcie.mawby@nottingham.ac.uk

Zoe Screti, Lead Editor (Research Articles)

Zoe is a PhD student at the University of Birmingham funded by a College of Arts and Law Doctoral Scholarship. She is also the recipient of a New Scholar Award from the Society for the History of Alchemy and Chemistry. Her thesis focuses on the interplay between the Reformation and alchemy in Early Modern England.

E: zxs454@student.bham.ac.uk

T: @zoescreti

Robert Frost, Lead Editor (Other Research Outputs)

Robert Frost’s research focuses on the history and geography of antiquarianism and Egyptology, with specific reference to John Gardner Wilkinson, who was active in the early nineteenth century. He receives funding from the AHRC (Midlands3Cities). At the Midlands Historical review, his role covers editing of non-standard published aspects of the journal: book reviews, exhibition reviews and conference proceedings.

E: robert.frost@nottingham.ac.uk

T: @RFrost_1

Catrin Fear, Website and Social Media Editor

Catrin is a third year PhD student at the University of Nottingham, funded by the AHRC Midlands3Cities. Her research focuses on the uses and impact of lead in the Anthropocene and palaeopathological examination of lead poisoning.

E: catrin.fear@nottingham.ac.uk

T: @catrinfear

Cat Gower, Creative Content Lead

Cat Gower is a first year PhD student at Nottingham Trent University, funded by the Midlands4Cities. Her research is on the production and use of genealogical chronicles under Henry VI.

E: catherine.gower2020@my.ntu.ac.uk

Regional Editors

EmmaLucy Cole                                          Bristol

emmalucy.cole@bristol.ac.uk

Elvira Tamus                                            Cambridge

evt27@cam.ac.uk

Lucy Morgan                                              Sheffield

lrmorgan2@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Scott Eaton                                      Queens, Belfast

seaton02@qub.ac.uk

Bethany Rogers                                           Iceland

blr3@hi.is

James Shepherd                                       Manchester

james.shepherd557@gmail.com

Jumana Ghannam                             Nottingham Trent

jumana.ghannam@ntu.ac.uk 

Sophia Hernandez                           St Thomas, Minnesota

rwp2pd@virginia.edu 

Zoe Scretti                                                  Birmingham

ZXS454@student.bham.ac.uk

Assistant Editors

  • David Civil
  • Oliver Dodd
  • Harriet-Rose Haylett-McDowell
  • Alexandra Hewitt
  • Eleanor Hedger
  • Jumana Ghannam
  • Katie Masters
  • Jessica Lovett
  • Lauren Sisson
  • Lily Pickard
  • Kathrina Perry
  • Oresta Muckute
  • Beth Parkes
  • Elvira Tamus
  • Lucy Morgan
  • Scott Eaton
  • Kerry Love
  • Chris Rouse
  • Catherine Gower
  • Alex Riggs
  • William Noble
  • Bethany Rogers
  • James Shepherd
  • Banu Özsar

Past Editorial Teams

2019 - 2020

Editorial Board

Editor: Lucy Mountfield, lucy.mounfield@nottingham.ac.uk

Deputy Editor: Emily Chambers, emily.chambers@nottingham.ac.uk

Lead Editor (Research Articles): Darcie Mawby, darcie.mawby@nottingham.ac.uk

Lead Editor (Research Articles): Michael Noble, michael.noble@nottingham.ac.uk

Lead Editor (Other Outputs): Robert Frost, robert.frost@nottingham.ac.uk

Assistant Editors:

  • David Civil
  • David Robinson
  • Harriet-Rose Haylett-McDowell
  • Oliver Dodd
  • Alexandra Hewitt
  • Eleanor Hedger
  • Jumana Ghannam
  • Zoe Screti
  • Katie Masters
  • Jessica Lovett
  • Lauren Sisson

2018 - 2019

Editorial Board

Editor: Lucy Mounfield, lucy.mounfield@nottingham.ac.uk

Lead Editor (Research Articles): Darcie Mawby, darcie.mawby@nottingham.ac.uk

Lead Editor (Other Research Outputs): Robert Frost, robert.frost@nottingham.ac.uk

Assistant Editors:

  • David Civil
  • David Robinson
  • Kimberley Weir
  • Marco Panato
  • Paul Grossman
  • Rhys Berry
  • Thomas Black
  • Harriet-Rose Haylett-McDowell
  • Alexandra Hewitt
  • Eleanor Hedger
  • Oliver Dodd
  • Sophie Cope
  • Miranda Jones
  • Jumana Ghannam

2017 - 2018

Editorial Board

Editor: Christopher Booth christopher.booth@nottingham.ac.uk

Deputy Editor: Emily Mills emily.mills@nottingham.ac.uk

Website Manager: Jen Caddick jennifer.caddick@nottingham.ac.uk

Lead Editor (Research Articles): Joseph Himsworth Joseph.Himsworth@nottingham.ac.uk

Lead Editor (Research Articles): Darcie Mawby darcie.mawby@nottingham.ac.uk

Lead Editor (Other Research Outputs): Jamie Smith James.Smith2@nottingham.ac.uk

Assistant Editors

  • David Civil
  • David Robinson
  • Kimberley Weir
  • Marco Panato
  • Paul Grossman
  • Rhys Berry
  • Thomas Black
  • Harriet-Rose Haylett-McDowell
  • Alexandra Hewitt
  • Eleanor Hedger
  • Oliver Dodd
  • Sophie Cope
  • Miranda Jones
  • Jumana Ghannam
  • Lucy Mounfield

2016 - 2017

Founding Editorial Board

Editor: David Civil (PhD History), davidcivil93@gmail.com

Deputy Editor: Jonathan Roche (PhD History), ahxjr4@exmail.nottingham.ac.uk

Lead Article Editor: David Robinson (PhD History), ahxdpr@exmail.nottingham.ac.uk

Lead Review Editor: Gary Fisher (PhD Classics), Gary.Fisher@nottingham.ac.uk

Assistant Editors

Christopher Booth (PhD History), Christopher.m.booth@gmail.com

Joanne Lord (MRes History), jolord02@hotmail.co.uk

Kate Garland (MRes Theology), atxkg4@exmail.nottingham.ac.uk

Kimberley Weir (PhD History), kimberley.weir@nottingham.ac.uk

Marco Panato (PhD History), ahxmp4@exmail.nottingham.ac.uk

Thomas Black (PhD English), aextsb@nottingham.ac.uk

Thomas Rose (PhD History), ahxtjr@exmail.nottingham.ac.uk

Click here to add your own text